PDA

View Full Version : Sander Advice

sebastian phillips
01-29-2014, 5:46 PM
Hello, looking to get some advice for a palm sander that can be comfortably operated with one hand, while still having good dust collection. I am primarily a cabinet/millwork installer who occasionally does built-ins.
Currently, when I have face frames or doors to sand after glue-up, I use a 6" Rotex in random orbit mode. I love this machine, and especially the dust pick up. However, I always clamp what I am sanding and use two hands on the machine. I also have a 5" Bosch that is a dust bowl.
When joints just need a quick pass, I would like a machine that I can easily run one handed (skipping the clamping), that will get dust at the same level as the Rotex.
Thanks for any advice.
Seb

William C Rogers
01-29-2014, 6:35 PM
Well, if you want to spend the money ($500) the Mirka Ceros is the answer. About 2 lbs shaped like a pneumatic and excellent dust collection. I really like mine and use it for all my sanding.

sebastian phillips
01-29-2014, 9:11 PM
Thanks for the reply William. Looked at the Mirka quickly online, and no on a has a bad word about it. Do you like the paddle on top of the tool, and do you use the Mirka paper? Probably something I should get sooner than later, wish there was a dealer near me.
Seb

Michael W. Clark
01-29-2014, 9:21 PM
I have a Festool DTS 400 and it works great on narrow face frames and edges. Not great on large panels, but that's what the 6" Rotex is for.

Scott T Smith
01-29-2014, 9:57 PM
If you already have the Rotex and CTS dust collection, consider the Festool ETC 150/3. It's a great, low vibration sander and it will complement your Rotex. Plus, you can use the same sandpaper on both.

Bill McNiel
01-29-2014, 9:58 PM
I have the Festool 125 (5"). Very little vibration, great dust collection and love the ability to set it down right right now. Also have the 400 and the half sheet sanders.

Joe Samorodin
01-29-2014, 10:20 PM