PDA

View Full Version : Wood Selection for Mission Style Dovetailed Drawers?

Loren DeShon
01-29-2014, 1:05 AM
My next project will likely be a mission-style entertainment center done in quartersawn white oak that will be something like these:

http://www.weaverfurnituresales.com/Plasma-TV-Stands.aspx

It's not designed yet and I'm just fleshing out some general ideas. I'm planning on doing dovetailed drawers, which I've never done before, and I'm not sure what wood to use for them.

What woods work well for drawer construction? For dovetails? For mission style?

Thanks.

phil harold
01-29-2014, 7:38 AM
since the rest is oak, stick with oak

Jim Foster
01-29-2014, 7:51 AM
I just worked with some poplar for the first time and it was a dream to plane, chop and cut. I think it would make a great secondary material for a cabinet like yours. Stickley also has a number of consoles, if you have a showroom nearby, you may be able to get some additional design ideas when looking at their consoles.

http://www.stickley.com/OurProducts_Results.cfm?Collection=Mission&cat1=88&view=all

Pat Barry
01-29-2014, 9:54 AM
You should consider something like baltic birch plywood for the actual drawer boxes and use oak as the applied face front material. My reasoning for this is that the baltic birch is very stable. If you are going to use a router method for the dovetails then the baltic birch will work OK and give a nice contrast to theoak. If on the other hand, you are planning to do hand cut dovetails using the poplar described above would be a good choice for the drawer boxes.

Rod Sheridan
01-29-2014, 10:00 AM
I make the drawer fronts about 20mm thick, with 10mm thick maple sides for small drawers, 12mm thick for larger drawers.

If you want to make the drawers entierly out of QSWO that works as well, and is easier to finish...........Rod.