PDA

View Full Version : Affordable laser engraving machine for mainly raster photo engraving

Rhonda Guasta
01-24-2014, 9:27 PM
Hello everyone!

This is my first post and as a newbie I really need some good advice. I am looking to start a home based laser engraving business in the near future. I do not have a lot of start up capital, so as much as I would like one of the 'top 3' units from Universal, Epilog or Trotec, I can't afford them. Are there other brands/models users would recommend for mainly raster photo engraving on wood to start with?

Dan Hintz
01-24-2014, 9:33 PM
If you can't afford the "top 3", then you're back to Chinese machines. You don't say what size you need, but anything larger than the desktop units sold on eBay will likely do you fine. 40W would be a minimum, but I'd expect the next size up from the desktop units probably use a 60W for starters and go up from there.

If you want to save some money and import yourself, plenty of threads here that detail the process. If you want to throw a little more money at the problem for a more simple transaction, you need to find a domestic reseller... I recommend Rabbit Laser as the owner has a very good track record here, but there are other shops that might be just as useful. I have a shop or two that I highly recommend staying away from, but you can PM me for those as any thread I mention them in starts a fight and it eventually gets locked.

Rhonda Guasta
01-24-2014, 10:53 PM
Thanks Dan, I will check out Rabbit Laser. I was thinking an engraving size of 24"x12" with 40-60 watt would be a good first machine. Any advise for shopping on ebay safely?

Robert Tepper
01-24-2014, 11:07 PM