PDA

View Full Version : Advice on rehandling mortice chisels

Kim Malmberg
01-24-2014, 3:53 AM
I was fortunate enough to win an auction lot containing three E.A. Berg mortice chisels.

These are tanged chisels like every other Berg chisels found in Finland. Two of them have shop made handles made of (ordinary) birch and one came without a handle.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/finnberg68/sets/72157640076157735/

I'm no newbie when it comes to making handles for chisels but I still wonder if you people would have any advice on what shape of handle would be the best for heavy chisels like these.

You don't see a lot of tanged Berg mortice chisels and most I have seen have been fitted with shop made handles. I believe that Berg originally made these chisels with round handles, just like they did with the ordinary bench chisels.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/finnberg68/10940528135/in/set-72157637833119463

Pictures I have seen shows round Berg handles fitted with a ferrule at the tang end of the handle. It seems like the tang is actually fitted inside the ferrule.

There is a important difference between Berg mortice chisels and what I would call American pigstickers. The tang is much narrower and will not provide the same kind of support to the handle as the pigstickers do.

SInce I don't own a lathe, I do struggle with making perfectly round handles, and I'm also unsure if a round handle is suitable. So my preference is this.

1. Elliptic and slightly tapered handles shaped with a puukko, spokeshave and rasps. Leather washer between tang and handle and possibly also at the striking end of the handle. My preferred wood would be birch as it is is easily available although I am aware of the potential risk of splitting. Birch would also be typical for the era and the culture.