PDA

View Full Version : Shelf Jig

Steve Gojevic
01-22-2014, 10:45 AM
Rockler has a shelf jig for drilling the peg holes on sale for $27.

The model is:

http://www.rockler.com/jig-itreg-shelving-jig-jig-it174-shelving-jig-set-template-self-centering-bit

Has anyone used this one or a similar one?

Is there a better one (for a reasonable price)?

I know I can save money and make one, but I have a huge project going on and can't spend the time right now. This jig would help drill the shelf holes on my kitchen cabinets I am building.

Steve

Prashun Patel
01-22-2014, 11:12 AM
Are there better ones? Yes, if you are professional.

I am not a pro, but have used this jig over the past 5 years to drill hundreds of holes and I love it. The plastic has not deteriorated or deformed. I'm still using the original bit that came with it, but if I were you, I'd buy a quality 1/4" bp bit and replace it so you get the cleanest possible holes.

It's cleverly oriented so you can use it upside down or right side up (so you can do both sides of the uprights easily). The 'bench hook' configuration also makes it easy to use on frameless cabinet sides, but you can flip around if you want to use it on a framed cabinet. I realize this is confusing as I write it. Just know that it's versatile and flexible. I like mine a lot.

Dick Mahany
01-22-2014, 11:13 AM
I have that one and used it extensively on many cabinets. No problems at all. Just make sure to reference it accurately when drilling the first hole in each series. The plastic will get a little marred up from the spring bit guides, but it didn't affect accuracy on mine.

David Ballard
01-22-2014, 11:24 AM