PDA

View Full Version : Another chip breaker question

David Wadstrup
01-18-2014, 7:44 PM
I'm new to bevel down planes, having just received my first 2(a #6 and #4) a few weeks ago. Having read a bit about using the chip breaker to control tearout, I honed both to about 45 degrees and keep them really close to the edge of the iron. I have 2 questions I was hoping you could help me with:

1) I've noticed a tendency for shavings to get caught between the chipbreaker and the iron. Is this a result of setting the chipbreaker too close to the edge of the blade? Or is there some other reason? It does seem to happen less when I set the blade back a little further.

2) I'd like to put a slight camber on the iron in my #4. Is there something special I should do with the chipbreaker? I don't feel comfortable cambering it as I'm afraid of losing too much of the underside surface that mates with the blade(it is a LN chipbreaker.) Or should I just set it as close as the straight edge of the CB will get to the cambered edge of the iron?

Thanks for your help.

Mark Engel
01-18-2014, 8:13 PM
I'm no expert, but I will venture an opinion.

If the shavings are getting between the chip breaker and the iron, you probably need to work on the edge of the chip breaker that seats against the back side of the iron. When the chip breaker is installed on the iron you should see no light between the breaker and the iron. The chip breaker should mate with the back side of the cutting iron with no gaps.

For a cambered iron, I set the chip breaker to be just back of the outside edges of the cutting iron. I don't worry about the set back, just get the chip breaker almost touching the left and right edges of the cambered cutting iron.

I don't understand what you said about honing both to 45*. What did you hone to 45*?

David Wadstrup
01-18-2014, 8:39 PM
Thanks, Mark.