PDA

View Full Version : Vintage Disston Saws

David M Anderson
01-15-2014, 1:23 PM
Hello,
I have acquired a few Disston hand saws and need advice with a clean-up and sharpening.
I have started clean up on Jackson back saw, it has the split screws, which I made a screw driver for them.

The back saw came with a Perfection miter box, Pat. date Dec 23,02. #456.
What would be a suggested Saw set for a beginner to use?
Was looking at a Morrill's Apex special or a Stanley 42

Don't have a idea on how old the back saw is, not to much information on Disston's Jackson line.
The seller stated the saw was what the miter box came with originally, but I thought the split screws where discontinued
years earlier than 1902..?

The screws loosened up easily, but was surprised on how thin they where..yikes.

Since i have it taken apart, will do the blade in electrolysis.

Jessica Pierce-LaRose
01-15-2014, 1:48 PM
I know the Stanley 42 is often cited as a nice tool; I've no experience with it.

I have a modern saw set - the thing is, I've only had to use it twice, once a smaller-tooth saw that I sharpened enough times to get "through" the intial set it came to me with. (I only sharpened it that many times because I was trying a few different teeth profiles.) and once on saw that lost all it's set as I was a little aggressive in restoring with sandpaper.

Out of the 5 or 6 vintage saws or so I've turned into users, and the handful of others I've gotten and passed along or squirreled away for "someday", and the many I've passed on for cost, condition or lack-of-need reasons, I've never come across one that didn't have too much set. My most frequently sharpened saw, my go-to seven-point rip, (most frequently sharpened simply because it's cut more linear feet than anything else, and because you tend to notice when a rip saw goes dull more than most others1) I still haven't felt the need to re-set it even after tuning it to a rather fine set to begin with.