PDA

View Full Version : Still Learning and a Question on Acrylic

Michele Welch
01-12-2014, 9:38 PM
I am still learning my laser and turning out some items, but happened to run across this company that's somewhat local to me and if the pictures on their website are accurate, they are really cool, but I'm stumped as to how they do it? Can anyone point me in a direction or give me any advice? They are calling it a 3D engraving on acrylic.

Thanks for the help!

Chuck Stone
01-12-2014, 10:04 PM
That appears (to my eye) to be routed rather than laser engraved. They might have
a CNC router to do this.

Michele Welch
01-12-2014, 10:10 PM
That's kind of what I thought, but it states that it's laser engraved.

David Somers
01-12-2014, 10:57 PM
Michele,

There are some examples of that deep looking acrylic work on the Epilog site.

I don't believe we are supposed to put links onto our messages. But, if you go to the Epilog Laser Web site and choose Resources from the Main Tab, followed by Tech library from the subordinate tab that will open, then look for an article on "Creating a 3D effect on Acrylic and Glass" you will find what you are looking for. I think. Good luck.

For the moderators, if my description of how to navigate to that article is not appropriate as an alternative to a direct link is there a way of doing this that you would find acceptable?

Dave

Keith Outten
01-13-2014, 1:32 AM
Links to other websites are allowed in posts. In fact, they are encouraged. However, links for the sole purpose of marketing, generating traffic to a site, or any other commercial advertisement deemed to solicit commercial benefit are not allowed. Links to other public or private forums are not allowed. Links should be submitted as references, for the sole purpose of generating or supporting discussions on SawMill Creek.

Paul Phillips
01-13-2014, 12:54 PM