PDA

View Full Version : Planing, what am I doing wrong?

Jan Bianchi
01-05-2014, 11:58 AM
I am planning the top to the lower half of the cherry hutch I am building. These boards were machined planed before glue up, but I thought I'd try hand planing the final surface rather than sanding. After flattening by planing across the grain and diagonally, I am trying to do the final smoothing, but I keep getting tear out.

I'm getting good long thin curls, freqently the width of the mouth. But at least at some point along most of the overlapping runs I'm either getting, or not cleaning up, tear out--or at least not getting a smooth surface. It feels smooth, but a glance down the top in reflected light shows many spots that don't reflect the light. I am using a #4 Lie Nielsen. Is this a function of the blade not being sharp enough, the mouth not being closed down enough or just poor technique? I'm already below 7/8 inch, though not yet to 3/4 in thickness. I have a 55 degree frog but have never used it. Any suggestions other than practice which I already know I need?

george wilson
01-05-2014, 12:31 PM