PDA

View Full Version : Cherry Lumber Harvesting

Jim Baker
05-18-2003, 8:58 PM
Last weekend, I had a cherry tree fall across my fence. This weekend, I cut off all the branches and drug the trunk up to the barn. It is 33 feet long. The large end is 16" in diameter and the smaller end is 12". It is not overly straight, although if I cut it into 3 sections, I think each one will be relatively straight.

Would you expect a log of this size to yield enough useful lumber to justify the trouble of taking it to a sawmill?

I have no experience with timber harvesting, so any help will be appreciated.

Jim Becker
05-18-2003, 9:09 PM
That's a nice score in the lumber department, Jim. And yes, that log is worth milling. You can find someone with a portable mill by going to the Woodmizer web site. There is a section that points to owners with contact information for the same. That might be more practical than schlepping the logs yourself to a mill, although that's certainly an option if you have the means.

Rob Russell
05-19-2003, 11:21 AM
Jim/Jim,

Not to be a wet blanket - but let's take a closer look at how much lumber is really there and what the likely quality is.

You'll probably get about 200 board board feet of lumber out of those logs. How'd I come up with that?

There are several scales used to measure the number of board feet in a log. You typically measure inside the bark, on the small end of the log. I made some gross assumptions on your log and said - chop it into (4) 8' sections, each log with about 1" of taper. You'd have an 8' log that's 16" on the big end, 15" on the small end; a log that's 15" on the big end and 14" on the small end - and so on. I subtracted 1" from the diameters to allow for bark. Given that, you get - based on the International scale:

(1) 8' log, 14" diameter on small end - 65 board feet.
(1) 8' log, 13" diameter on small end - 55 board feet.
(1) 8' log, 12" diameter on small end - 45 board feet.