PDA

View Full Version : Finishing Maple

Jim Benante
06-10-2005, 6:54 PM
Newbie here so please forgive what I will call innocence.

I am building a crib out of maple with some canary wood accents.

Question #1- if I decide to use polyeurathane should I use wood conditioner first?

Question #2- What is the difference between varnish, laquer, and polyeurathane?

I am leaning toward EF water based polyeurathane today as the finish, but it is a daily change of heart so far on what to use. Anybody finish a maple crib and really happy with what they used?

Oh yeah, I do not have spray capabilities and would like to rub the finish on unless brushing offers some sort of benefit.

Bob Nieman
06-10-2005, 7:55 PM
Very darn new myself. Without answering your questions I have a comment anyway :)

Boiled Linseed oil (BLO) sure does make maple look nice, especially if it has some figure. Let it cure and then apply your poly (although a weak coat of shellac over the BLO is probably a good idea if you use the waterbase poly (see other posts in this forum))

BLO will definitely give it an amber cast though. From what I have heard (but not tried) the water based poly is a good choice if you want to avoid darkening the maple. BLO is really easy to apply.

A rubbing poly is just thinned down. Easy to apply, but takes (a lot) more coats to build up a coat. You can easily make your own (don't know about the water based variety though)

And now the experts can answer your actual questions....

Scott Parks
06-10-2005, 8:27 PM
Jim,