PDA

View Full Version : Longest you've been out of work?

Rich Riddle
12-27-2013, 6:05 PM
I just read an article about unemployment being extended past the 99 week limit for people to find work. Out of curiosity, in your adult life, what is the longest you've been out of work?

Mine was about ten days.

George Bokros
12-27-2013, 6:07 PM
I was out 4 1/2 months the first time. The second it was about three weeks.

Roy Harding
12-27-2013, 6:37 PM
Two weeks - and I HAD a job after two days, it just didn't start until two weeks later. FWIW I've been working since 1975.

Ed Aumiller
12-27-2013, 7:28 PM
Before retirement... less than 2 weeks from age 18 till retirement...
After retirement... NEVER.. too much to do...

Bill Bukovec
12-27-2013, 7:36 PM
26 weeks in 1992

3 days in 2012.

Plan t take some time off in 2015 to move from Minesnowda to Tennessee.

Mike Cozad
12-27-2013, 7:55 PM
4 months in 2006. Decided to change jobs and relocate. Took a while to find a job where I wanted to live. Eventually settled for one "close". Wasn't smart enough at the time to recognize the downturn....

Ken Fitzgerald
12-27-2013, 8:06 PM
I enlisted in the US Navy in 1968 and got out in 1976. I had a job 3 months before I got out and never looked for another job. Even when the company was sold to a larger corporation, I maintained my job.

Then I awoke deaf a little over 3 years ago and for reasons of my personal safety and customer's equipment safety and convenience I was forced to retire a little sooner than I had planned.

There are others, professionals, with college degrees that I know that haven't been that lucky, however.

Rich Riddle
12-27-2013, 9:14 PM
Ken,