PDA

View Full Version : Golden Ratio

Jerry Thompson
12-24-2013, 5:56 PM
I have no math background. The Web sites that allow one to plug in a number and come up with numbers mean nothing to me. If I were to construct a box 4' long what would be the width? If I wanted it to also be 2' tall how would that fit in?
If anyone answers this please do not use mathematical signs other than divide add, etc.
Basically I want t find out what would be pleasing proportions of a box 2'hX16''wx4'l. I' not sure I have even presented the question in a rational manner.

Dave Richards
12-24-2013, 6:08 PM
So a rectangle that is 48" long (wide) would be about 29-11/16" high. If you built box whose front dimensions are those and wanted to maintain the ratio on the end, the box would be about 18-5/8" deep. If the math doesn't help, do you use SketchUp? You can easily draw rectangles with golden proportions if you want and get a graphic look at it.

Jerry Thompson
12-24-2013, 6:13 PM
Thanks Dave. No I don't use SketchUp. How did you achieve the numbers? Be gentle.

Mel Fulks
12-24-2013, 6:21 PM
Palladio gave three different rules for figuring how tall a room with a vaulted ceiling should be . I think I have found examples of all rectilinear forms that apply them, too. The simplest one is definately used often ,it is : length times width divided by two equals "proper" height. These things are interesting and fun ,but not the only way to get a good design.

Dave Richards
12-24-2013, 6:22 PM
Jerry, I did use SketchUp and drew a rectangle that was exactly 48 in. long and then dragged it out until I got the indication I had a golden rectangle. I then looked at the dimension that SketchUp reported and round to the nearest 16th of an inch. I repeated for the depth using the height of the first rectangle as the limit.