PDA

View Full Version : Life without a table saw

Zahid Naqvi
06-09-2005, 4:34 PM
I have been contemplating this for a few months. My shop is based in one half of a two car garage. I am not sure I can have both a tablesaw and a bandsaw and still have room to walk around. So how accurate is a bandsaw for ripping? Can I live without a tablesaw. I am a semi neander, in that I try to do as much as I can with hand tools, but things like thickness planing and ripping are best done by machines.

the flexibility of a bandsaw will be good to have but how much would I miss the quick setup dead straight ripping of a tablesaw. I do have a router table, so I can manage the dadoo/groove type stuff.

Don Baer
06-09-2005, 4:40 PM
I have about the same amount of space a you do. I have a table saw but no band saw. There are a few time when I could use a band saw but those are very few. My table saw is a bench top type and I have it on a moveable table that I made with wheels on one end. When I need to rip something I wheel it out. When I'm done I wheel it back. MY DC is a shop Vacuum which I have perched on a shelf on the bottom of the bench for the table saw. So it moves with the saw.

Steve Cox
06-09-2005, 4:42 PM
You'll miss it tremendously.:( However, that is how I started life as a woodworker. My first (and only for a while) two machines were a planer and a bandsaw. You'll need to be or become proficient with your hand planes but everything that can be done with a TS can be done without it. It's just not as easy or convenient. I was lucky in that I didn't know how nice a TS was. If I had to go back now it would really be a bummer.

Michael Ballent
06-09-2005, 4:44 PM