PDA

View Full Version : Which festool sanding discs do you prefer?

Jeff Heil
12-15-2013, 9:00 PM
I am getting a Festool 150/5 sander for christmas to add to my growing Festool Collection. I was over on Bob Marino's website to pull the trigger tonight to order my first Festool sander to replace the third Porter Cable RO that is wearing out. I have to admit I am overwhelmed by the multitude of sanding discs available. Searching online I find many opinions. I am a hobby woodworker building cabinets and furniture in my basement shop. I typically use cherry, QS and flat sawn white oak and maple in my projects as well as hardwood plywood. I was thinking Rubin or Brilliant 2, but I find great info on Granet as well online for bare wood sanding. Thinking I will order some ten packs up through 220 grit and see what I prefer before buying in bulk, but confused where to start.

I would appreciate any hands on feedback for finishing rough wood anyone can offer.

Michael Dunn
12-15-2013, 9:53 PM
I personally use the Rubin (also Rubin 2), and Brilliant. I enjoy them both. They last quite long. I've yet to try many of the other types.

On another note, try beavertools.com. They had several 50 & 100 packs on clearance. 40% off. Also they have rewards points. I've racked up quite a few and used them on other purchases. They ship quickly too.

Bob Michaels
12-15-2013, 10:00 PM