PDA

View Full Version : Balancing grinder wheels/Oneway system

Joe Cowan
12-12-2013, 7:28 PM
I have just received the new Jet slow speed bench grinder. I am a pretty good woodworker, but a klutz with mechanical issues. I have tried moving the wheel, the flange etc around but still have a wobble. I read a review on this grinder recently and the author commented on the trouble he had getting the wobble out. I did a search on here about this and came up with the Lee Valley Oneway system of wheel balancing. Anyone know about this? Below is the description from Lee Valley. One other question (I mentioned I was a klutz didn't I ?) wouldn't the arbor hole and shafts have to match up? This has arbor holes larger than the grinder shaft size???

"Suitable for wheels with 1" or 1-1/4" arbor holes, this simple jig comes with everything you need to balance two grinding wheels. The system includes a dual-bearing balancing stand and two mounting flanges, plus all the hardware needed to correct imbalance. Once balanced, rebalancing is not required for the life of the wheels.
Available for grinders with 1/2", 5/8" and 3/4" shafts with minimum spindle lengths of 2-3/16", 2-1/4", and 2-3/8" respectively"

glenn bradley
12-12-2013, 7:42 PM
Lee Valley sells it. It is actually made by Oneway. It is pricey per wheel but, the system definitely works according to everything I have ever read about it. I would run your motor without wheels first to confirm it is really the wheels.

Chris Fournier
12-12-2013, 8:49 PM