PDA

View Full Version : Conventional Table Saw v Sliding Table Saw

Steve Mellott
12-11-2013, 8:55 PM
I am a hobbyist woodworker and have decided to buy a new table saw. I was leaning toward a Sawstop model, but have learned I can buy a used MiniMax SC3 (in great condition) for less money. While I saw an occasional panel, I primarily use the table saw to rip boards. I can fit the SC3 footprint into my shop, but am not sure if I want to deal with 2 motors and 2 blades. I'd also like to continue using my Incra fence which may or may not fit on the SC3. I think the SC3 may be a superior saw at a better price, but am wondering if the SC3 sliding table saw may be too much of a saw for someone like myself. Any advice or me? Thanks.

Steve Rozmiarek
12-11-2013, 9:07 PM
Steve, there have been some tremendously informative and useful threads pertaining to this subject in the past. If you want, a search will find.

I started with a Delta contractor saw, went to a Jet cabinet saw, then took the plunge and bought a Felder. I now also have a unisaw that I use as a worksite saw. That being said, I am a hobby guy, and have never regretted the slider. You have to want to commit to a different way to saw though to get the full benefit of such a tool. Some relesh that, and will see massive benefits, some don't want to learn new techniques, and will not like a slider.

First question, which are you?

Loren Woirhaye
12-11-2013, 9:12 PM