PDA

View Full Version : Vintage / Antique Saws, Not Sure What I have... Help!

Stephen Gregg
12-09-2013, 7:26 PM
Hi everyone,

I actually posted this in another section, but didn't realize this area would be a better spot to post...

I'm new to woodworking tools and I recently came across some vintage / antique hand saws and was wondering if anyone could help me figure out what I have.

Here's the list of items / specs and pictures:

- 13" hacksaw, JSB 800
- 26" saw, no mention of the make.
- 20" saw, w/#9 on the back of the blade toward the handle
- 24" Thin blade Disston saw
- 26" Disston saw w/ a very ornate handle
- 16" hacksaw w/ tag Warranted Superior

If anyone has information on how old these saws are or if they're valuable, let me know.

Thanks!

Steve

Judson Green
12-09-2013, 7:47 PM
Someone will be along with much better info than I could provide but in the meantime you might wanna check out "the disston institute".

Tim Atkins
12-09-2013, 8:09 PM
The 4th picture looks like a No. 12. The plate along the bottom of the handle is curious. Also, the Disston Medallion might be a replacement for lost medallion. The carving on the grip area is not your standard carving. You might have a winner. Some more pictures of the plate on the bottom of the handle and the handle would clear up some of the question. I am sure some one will be able to give you more information. The handle craving is very distinctive.

Tim

Jim Koepke
12-10-2013, 1:10 AM
As Judson mentioned, you can find out more about the Disston saws at disstonianinstitute.com/

There is a section on the time line of the different medallions used. The pictures of your saws do not show enough detail for me to determine any dates.

A number stamped into a plate under the handle is usually the number of point per inch when the saw left the factory.

Warranted Superior was a medallion used by many makers for second line saws.

The

Andrae Covington
12-10-2013, 1:40 PM