PDA

View Full Version : First & Last Bench - Design Feedback Request

Ron Humphrey
12-07-2013, 3:39 PM
I am planning a workbench and would appreciate feedback on the basic overall design and joinery I have created. My objectives are: 1) massive & heavy 2) strong & rigid 3) simple. I am thinking eastern hard maple material with drawbored mortise & tennon stretchers.

My plan is for a 24” Veritas twin screw on the left face and a simple small quick-adjust vise on the right end. The dimensions may need some adjustments to accommodate those, but I would just like to focus for the moment on finalizing the basic structure. I have been an armchair woodworker for 50 years and this should be a rest-of-my-life bench.

Attached (hopefully) is a simple drawing of my design. Feedback/advice appreciated

Brian Holcombe
12-07-2013, 4:41 PM
I'm pretty happy having used tusk tenons rather than draw bored mortise and tenons. Easy to take apart but incredibly strong.

I met a woodworker buying 12/4 rock maple in something like 12" wide to build a split top bench, I would consider that if ever building another. 2.75" is plenty thick for a bench top.

Curt Putnam
12-07-2013, 4:55 PM
If you change your mind and go with a leg vise then you will want to consider having the tenon for that leg go thru to the top on that leg (look at the Roubo dovetails) so that vise pressure does not bear on the top and try to shift it out of alignment. Otherwise, looks good to me - but I haven't built mine yet.

Jim Ritter
12-07-2013, 5:15 PM