PDA

View Full Version : What is centre of effort?

Kees Heiden
12-05-2013, 1:41 PM
Derek, what is the centre of effort and what does it to our woodworking planes?

I studied the article on your website but it didn't make me any wiser. I also read some articles about sailing yachts but I fail to see how their centre of effort has correlates with woodworking planes.

Sean Hughto
12-05-2013, 2:18 PM
Why everyone knows that it is the vector and amplitude of the force line projected through an axis of linear motion. In the case of the handplane, for example, it would equal the vector of force in a downward and forward orientation required to propel a blade through the wood medium and remove a given volume of the wood - i.e., a shaving of a certain size. The amplitude of the force - how many joule of energy you must produce is coupled with this angle of effort in a formula that yield a numeric representation of the work done which is called a centre or effort (or in the US: center of effort - also sometimes " uni-maximal pyhric height" or "umph"). Glad I could help.

Chris Griggs
12-05-2013, 2:24 PM
Well, I don't know what a center of effort is but they have a much much lower center of gravity which transliterates into feeling like you need to apply less downward force then you would a bevel down plane. Basically with a BD you feel like your pushing down and forward more where as with a BU you feel like you mostly need to push forward (of course still down but to a lesser extent).

The COG also translates to a very different feel when jointing an edge. On one hand the higher COG of a BD plane makes it easier to sense plumb since you feel the tilt more when you are out of plumb...the flip side of the coin is that once you develop a feel for plumb on a BU plane its a little easier to hold it there as the low COG gives it virtually no tippyness. If your used to one type and not the other the difference in feel can be somewhat unnerving.