PDA

View Full Version : Obtaining alcohol...to dry with

Ron Journeau
06-07-2005, 11:06 PM
have finally started to turn a few small bowls, mostly walnut as that is what I have on hand right now. This and other forums keep talking about using denatured alcohol as a drying process, but I have yet to find any for sale up here in Canada...any ideas where I can find it?

Cecil Arnold
06-08-2005, 12:03 AM
Try a chemical supplier, or, it may be something uinque to the US, since they add something to reguliar alcohol to make it poisonus to drink. We have it here in most paint stores where it is used to reconstitute shellac flake, ie Sears, Home Depot,and Lowes.

Jerry Clark
06-08-2005, 1:12 AM
You may want to contact Andy London -- he lives is Nova Scotia, Canada and uses the alcohol drying method. Send him a personal message.:D

Fred LeBail
06-08-2005, 4:41 AM
Ron, I have been using this drying technique for several months now and I am using Mythel Hydrate in stead of DNA. I have had no losses from cracks or splits but some blanks have gone quite oblong. I am assuming I did not get all of the center out or rough turned the sides too thin.Most were recovered.
Mythel hydrate is avaiable at any hardware store in 4 liter jugs.
Good luck, Fred

Keith Nielsen
06-08-2005, 2:25 PM
Ron,

Ran across a new product yesterday that you may want to look into. Its called Cedar Shield. It clams you can soak green wood in it and 15 min. later remove it and let it air dry. It penetrates fully and replaces the water in the wood with there product and accully makes the wood 13% stronger than it would have been. you can then finish it in any method you choose with no cracking or warping of any kind.
I'm going to try in after I get my shop back together. I'll let you know

Keith

John Carr
06-08-2005, 2:52 PM
In the US, it's denatured alcohol; in Canada it's called ethanol.

Ken Garlock
06-08-2005, 6:31 PM
In the US, it's denatured alcohol; in Canada it's called ethanol.