PDA

View Full Version : Practice Turnings From Scrap

Mike Ramsey
06-07-2005, 10:59 PM
Some first turnings i've attempted. Almost embarrased to post these after seeing some of the work here but i have to start somewhwere. Had some Pine & Oak 6x6 post from packing crates, a small Hackberry tree i cut by the garage, and a Mtn Cedar fence post that i have been playing with.

Roger McIntyre
06-07-2005, 11:02 PM
Mike,
Great looking bowls. Don't be embarased they are very good. I am a novice from australia and been turning for 8 months. We have to startsomewhere.

Regards Roger

Ernie Nyvall
06-07-2005, 11:48 PM
Mike, these look great and you're not afraid to venture out with different designs being creative. LOML from across the room liked the pine goblet on your next post. I can't wait to see more. Keep it up.

Ernie

Jerry Clark
06-08-2005, 1:15 AM
Great bowls-- we like all turnings and those show a lot of style. Keep spinning and send more pictures.:)

John Hart
06-08-2005, 7:12 AM
Embarrassed??? Sheesh...Mike, those are great. I can show you some stuff to be embarrassed about... But I won't:rolleyes:

Very nice sir. I especially like #3

Mike Ramsey
06-08-2005, 9:21 AM
Thanks Guys,
I really appreciate the inspiration..

Jim Becker
06-08-2005, 9:42 AM
Instant perfection is for the Gods. For the rest of us mere mortals, learning requires practice and even if you blow something up, there is value in the experience. And don't be afraid to post "practice pieces" and ask for comments if you'd like them. Generally speaking, forum etiquette doesn't allow for critique when it is not requested.

Also, keep those practice pieces where you can see them and contemplate how you might change something or do something differently with the tools, etc.

Takeshi Uchida
06-08-2005, 9:59 AM
In Fact, I'm also embarrassed after seeing other great projects of big work and great lathe.But as Roger said, We have to start somewhere.
Hi Roger, I'm a novice from Japan.

Mike Ramsey