PDA

View Full Version : Engraving signature in guitar fingerboard

Gary Cote
06-07-2005, 11:26 AM
I have a client that I am building a guitar for and he wants my signature on the fingerboard done in Mother of Pearl shell. I called a laser place near me and they wanted 100.00 for the engraving. It would be abolut 1.5" long by 3/8"- 1/2" high.
The price sounded a bit high to me.

It is to be done in Ebony wood.
I will do the pearl part and just want the signature cut.

Anyone want a shot at it?

Thanks Gary

you can e-mail me at garynro@comcast.net

Pete Andrew
07-26-2005, 10:35 AM
Hi Gary
I'm in the UK and sat infront of a tiny (4 x 2.5 cm) piece of abalone shell which I am going to try to cut into an attractive shape and inlay into some hardwood....
Sounds a little like what you are after, except I've never done this before and I'm trying this out so I can impress a very fine luthier and hopefully get some work off him.
So, if you have found out anything about this process, or if any other people have tried this and have got any tips for me, please contact me!

Pete

Joe Pelonio
07-26-2005, 12:42 PM
I have not tried to do anything with that material. When I do something
for the first time I let the customer know that I'll have to experiment and
waste some material in order to come up with the nest settings for the laser.
I normally charge for the material plus $1 minute, something like your job if
you provided material would be less than $50. There is a white pearl shell
laminate available from engraving suppliers so I'd guess I could cut it, but
like I said you never know until you try.

Lee DeRaud
07-26-2005, 1:22 PM
I have a client that I am building a guitar for and he wants my signature on the fingerboard done in Mother of Pearl shell. I called a laser place near me and they wanted 100.00 for the engraving.Do you already have the signature in digital form? If they have to scan and clean up from hardcopy, that may explain the price.

Mike Mackenzie