PDA

View Full Version : My First Pen

John Hart
06-05-2005, 6:08 PM
This is my first attempt at a pen/pencil. Yesterday, I got good advice from Blake McCulley and the nice folks at Berea Hardwoods. I tried to pay attention and do everything they said. So this is the result. Both made from some cherry scraps laying in the garage. Didn't do anything fancy (as instructed) and only used a scraper (per Blake and against the advice of the book)

I'm happy I didn't destroy them. Think I'll make a couple thousand more!:rolleyes:

Harry Pye
06-05-2005, 6:17 PM
They look great John. Cherry is one of my favorite woods. It normally doesn't look good on a pen because the small pens don't allow the grain to show. These have a really nice swirl to the grain and make outstanding items.

Blake McCully
06-05-2005, 7:18 PM
John,
Great looking pens. That is ONLY the beginning. I can see it all now, pen after pen after.... welll you get the idea.

Keep showing us your new pens. When you get to some of the larger styles, check out Bill Baumbeck at Arizona Silhouettes (however you spell that word) he's got some great dyed and stabilized wood. A little better price than some of the other sources, but really great wood.

Keep up the great work.

Carole Valentine
06-05-2005, 7:47 PM
Good job, John. Do you have a spindle gouge? Try it...you'll like it. Then move to a skew chisel.

Charlie Stein
06-05-2005, 10:14 PM
Hi John,
Well you finaly don it, now all you have to do is practics practics and more of the same, but get creative,don't make them all the same. They look nice, good job for the first.
Just Charlie & Betsy

Michael Stafford
06-06-2005, 6:16 AM
John, my first pen did not look that good. You are a natural. Learn to use a skew and turn a few hundred... like the rest of us. It is addictive. Good job!

John Hart
06-06-2005, 6:36 AM