PDA

View Full Version : Delta 12" Lathe

Jonathan Patrick
06-04-2005, 11:36 PM
I bought a Delta 12" variable speed lathe today. It is an older, unassembled lathe but has never been used. It was purchased originally from Delta in Tupelo, Mississippi as defective because it has a crack about 1.5" long in the top of one of the ways approximately 7" from the headstock. My question is does this render this lathe unusable at all? Is it possible to weld or braze cast Iron and would this be feasible for this lathe. With this one exception, as big as it may be, it is in perfect condition. I have a Jet Mini that I just bought and it has about 15 minutes of run time on it. I am new to turning and must sell one. A new bed is over $800.00 so replacing it new is out of the question. Should I part out the Delta and keep the Jet or is the Delta salvageable?

Thanks
Jonathan

John Hart
06-05-2005, 6:57 AM
Jonathan,

I'd get that puppy welded. It can be done securely, just be sure they know what they're doing. Then get it mounted good so there's no undue stress transmitted along that bed. Good score if you ask me!

Gary Max
06-05-2005, 7:47 AM
I am with John---great buy.
Make sure the welder knows what he is doing and you should be set.

Bruce Smith
06-05-2005, 9:10 AM