PDA

View Full Version : winter clothing for the job outside

Chuck Wintle
11-04-2013, 5:23 PM
Just wondering what your opinion is about being sent to work in the field by ones employer....should the employer pay for appropriate clothing for field work? i.e. winter clothing when the temperature drops.....

John Pratt
11-04-2013, 5:38 PM
A case could be made either way. At my work, if the "clothing" is mandatory for safety reasons, the company pays for it (steel toe boots). If it is just normal clothing, I pay for it. However, If the clothing is worn out quickly due to the nature of the job there is a possiblility that it could be written off taxes (caveat: I am by no means a tax expert).

Greg Portland
11-04-2013, 6:02 PM
Anything considered PPE must be provided (OSHA regs): https://www.osha.gov/dte/outreach/intro_osha/7_employee_ppe.pdf I'm sure Canada has a similar agency.

For winter clothing in the U.S., there is not a specific regulation but there are "common sense" clauses in the OSHA regs and a bunch of case law. For example, requiring snow plow operators to wear shorts and T-shirts would pique the interest of the state's occupational health board. An employer not paying for a heavy jacket would not be covered under law (but you could write it off on your taxes).

Mark Bolton
11-04-2013, 6:25 PM
As an employer my guess would be it would depend on whether working in various weather conditions was a known condition of your employment when you took the job or is this an odd/recent occurance in comparison to what your job was when you were hired.

If I were to hire a year round framer it would be a known that you'll be working in heat, cold, rain, and so on. Specialty safety equipment aside, the employee would be expected to show up with appropriate clothing.