PDA

View Full Version : Craftsman or Skil routers?

Joe Shinall
10-27-2013, 9:38 PM
I'm looking at purchasing a couple of routers to add to my collection to use for specific setups. I haven't been able to find anything on craigslist or ebay worth the price used so I was looking at Craftsman and Skil routers (new). They're affordable but I don't know how good they are. I'm mainly looking at plunge base for sign templates. Power isn't that big of an issue because I'm not taking out a lot of material each cut.

Does anyone have any reviews on any of the new Skil or Craftsman plunge routers? Mainly the ones less than a hundred bucks? Fixed base model reviews would be helpful too.

Thanks!

Harold Burrell
10-28-2013, 10:33 AM
Alright...another cheap guy...I like you already. :)

My first router purchases were a Craftsman fixed base and a Ryobi plunge. Both have served me well. I have no experience with a "Skil" anything.

I have since added to my router collection with a Bosch 1617 and a 3+hp Triton. Those are nice machines as well, but I never hesitate to grab any of my routers.

So...I wouldn't hesitate to pick up a Craftsman again. However, you might also check out the Ryobi.

Stew Hagerty
10-28-2013, 11:15 AM
I have the big Craftsman Professional 2.5hp router. It comes with fixed & plunge base (in fact when I bought mine it also came with a D-Grip base as well) for less than $145.

I have a PC 7518 that I leave installed in in my Incra table, and I use the Craftsman for all of my handheld needs. I would highly recommend it.

Although, I am personally craving one of the small PC or DeWalt kits for lighter duty work.

Kyle Iwamoto
10-28-2013, 11:33 AM
Cheap guys unite!