PDA

View Full Version : Sometimes it's the little things in life that are the most satisfying

Brian Ashton
10-27-2013, 6:17 AM
I retired from furniture making soon after I moved to australia 9 years ago and embarked on a new career direction, which is still being ironed out. Part of that change up required a physical make over. Long story short I now need something to put all my white collar bling (tie clips, watch ect) in...

As is my usual methodology I didn't have a plan just a rough idea as where I wanted to end up... The only absolute was that I had a bunch of pine kicking around from an old cannibalised dresser we dragged here that was just screaming to be used for something. So as things usually unfold: I plane and cut out a few bits, stand back and scratch my head for a while wondering where to now. When the dust settled and the finish set hard I had a nice little William & Mary nightstand cabinet.

Over the decades as a pro I've made more furniture than I could ever hope to remember but this little box stands out as one of the most satisfying pieces I've made - and one of the most unassuming to the eye of the average beholder.

The only part not made by hand were the wood screws (I did actually think about making them also but but only for a few seconds) and library catch. Everything else including the hardware and finish I employed traditional handcrafting techniques. I can say, other than for the lights (working by oil lamp was simply out of the question) no electrons were harmed in the making of this cabinet.