PDA

View Full Version : Help required

Andy Bassett-Scott
10-24-2013, 8:25 AM
273640273641273642273643273644http://www.sawmillcreek.org/images/misc/exclamation.png273645273646273647

Here are pictures of my Record RPML 300. I picked this little baby up at a farm auction the only thing that didn't come with it was a chuck and seeing as I am a total novice any advice on what I need would be gratefully appreciated. Thank you Andy :confused:

charlie knighton
10-24-2013, 9:24 PM
what size is the spindle, is that knob screw off, interesting, not familiar with that lathe,

i would not turn next to a window, espically if i was just starting out, i sent several airborne, good luck

Tom Wilson66
10-24-2013, 9:31 PM
I would recommed you contact Record Power Tools and see if they can send you any information.

Thom Sturgill
10-24-2013, 9:33 PM
Looks like a collet chuck on it. They are used to grip thin dowels. It should screw off. You need to identify the size and thread on the end of the spindle and what taper is used internally on both the head stock and tailstock.

Thomas Canfield
10-24-2013, 9:53 PM
The Record nameplate shows the motor to be 50 cycle British and not 60 cycle used in the US. I could not read the motor nameplate and the motor may have been changed. A 60 cycle motor will turn faster than a 50 cycle and therefore the speeds will be 20% more, 2000 rpm up to 2400, 950 rpm up to 1140, and 450 rpm up to 540 rpm, just as a word of caution. It looks like a fairly heavy duty lathe, but rough unbalanced pieces may present some problems at the slowest speed and definitely at the higher speeds, but about same as the Jet 1014 belt drives.

Mike Cruz
10-24-2013, 10:30 PM