PDA

View Full Version : Laser engraving leather question

Stevie DeFord
10-17-2013, 5:32 PM
Can someone tell me how people do things like this: http://etsy.me/H6Fg3R
Kinda confused since I just figure it would burn darker(i'm new to laser engraving)
Thanks

Dan Hintz
10-17-2013, 5:37 PM
You'd have to experiment. Leather will "burn" a darker color, but your example looks more like they bleached the dye (that would be fast and low power).

Ryan Pridgeon
10-17-2013, 5:39 PM
They are masking the leather prior to the burn and then color filling afterwards. It does almost look like it was heat embossed not lasered. Leather does, generally, get darker when burned. We do a lot of leather and when we're going to do color fill we burn deep and then seal the leather.

Stevie DeFord
10-17-2013, 5:53 PM
If you scroll down its says "100% genuine leather wallet laser-engraved with your name" but are you talking about putting something like tape on, it laser it then take the part i want colored off and spray paint it or something like that.. sorry if that's a stupid question

Scott Shepherd
10-17-2013, 6:07 PM
It's not that complex (painting it). It's surface dyed leather, they engrave deep enough to expose the natural color of the leather. No paint filling needed.

Stevie DeFord
10-17-2013, 6:09 PM
ok thanks :)

Mike Null
10-17-2013, 6:15 PM
Leathers vary considerably. This is especially true of leathers with vivid colors. As Steve says they are surface dyed and you just engrave through the color.

A caution, such leathers are frequently very thin. With these leathers laser engraving may make them brittle and they'll crack very easily.

You cannot assume that the color of the leather will be pale--it may well be dark and you'll be unable to get a contrast with engraving.

Color filling leather is somewhat risky. I refuse to do it.

Stevie DeFord
10-17-2013, 6:41 PM
How would I find the right surface dyed leather that would burn pale? Just experiment?

Matt McCoy