PDA

View Full Version : Best double sided tape for acrylic

Jiten Patel
10-17-2013, 9:17 AM
Hi guys,

I am new to signs and have been asked to make one for a company. Just cut out letters from 3mm gold mirror acrylic that they want stuck to their shop wall. I have read on here various methods for sticking acrylic such as carpet tape etc, but need something permanent and in rolls or sheet of 600mm wide by 1000mm. Could anyone recommend anything suitable?

I would ideally like it to also allow me to adhere mirror perspex to clear or similar for rigidity as we will be cutting mirror but at 3mm it is too thin and warps.

Ross Moshinsky
10-17-2013, 10:40 AM
3M VHB tape will work for applying it to the walls. You may find the VHB tape a bit thick when laminating the two pieces of acrylic together. 3M also has a good tape for that. We use 468MP.

Remember, on a job like this, a good template is key.

Jiten Patel
10-18-2013, 6:09 AM
Hi Ross,

Thanks for that - the 468mp is about £400 a roll in the UK for 0.6m x 50m rolls. That works out at about £8 for a 600mm x 1000mm sheet. That seems quite expensive - more expensive than the acrylic....does that seem right?

Joe Pelonio
10-18-2013, 7:56 AM
Yes, a little higher than here but close.

Ross Moshinsky
10-18-2013, 8:10 AM
We bought our tape years ago. We bought 2" wide tape and I just lay down several strips. It's not the least expensive tape in the world but it's done the job for me in the past. With the use of nesting, I can typically get very good yeild out of both the acrylic and the tape. From U-Line, the tape is 2"x50yds for about $50. You need about 8 yards. So the additional cost is about $8. If the letters are large you could always use strips of gold line tape or something like it. That would be a much more economical way of doing it.

Richard Rumancik
10-18-2013, 3:35 PM