PDA

View Full Version : Bucket List - NOT!

Keith Hankins
10-08-2013, 11:49 AM
Ya know I've been doing the woodworking thing for over 35 years. Back in the day I wanted to get good enough to make a grandfather clock. Did not know that was a bucket list item, but hey all I knew was I wanted to do it. Well here I sit, and I'm not so sure I'll ever do one now.

Not because I can't, but I'm thinking why. In today's climate of cell phones being used for time keeping, and alarm clocks, is there a point to having one. I've got a real nice wrist watch, I've not worn in years. They (grandfather clocks) are fading like formal dining rooms in houses under construction now. I don't know even if I made it, if any of the kids would want it.

Any other folks out there have a bucket list item to make and then decided against it. I'm thinking now of changing my clock to a Maloof style rocker as a bucket project.

Jerry Thompson
10-08-2013, 12:01 PM
My wife and I have never made a GF clock. We made 3 1840 Shaker wall clocks as gifts. The recipients where overwhelmed. We got burned out doing the 3 in a short time. We still have 6 to make and willstart again when the FL dries and cools. We put mechanical movements in them. No matter how people tell time to me some methods are iconic.

Brian Tymchak
10-08-2013, 12:02 PM
No harm, no foul in managing the bucket list to match your current mindset.

You cite several practical reasons for not building the clock, but I would recommend the ultimate criteria to be - do you want to do it for your own personal satisfaction? AFAIC, that would trump all other reasons for not doing it.

Steve Peterson
10-08-2013, 12:22 PM
Both a grandfather clock and a Maloof style rocker are on my bucket list. Also, a segmented vase is on my list. I have all the tools and most of the ability to do all of them, just not enough time.