PDA

View Full Version : Used Felder AD741 vs. New Hammer A3-31 with Silent Power Cutter Block

Tim Hibler
09-29-2013, 10:23 PM
If the cost was the same which would you rather have?

The 10 year old Felder AD741 has Power Drive and is in pretty nice shape but it needs new blades and some adjustments. The alternative is a brand new Hammer A3-31 with the Silent Power (spiral) cutter block.

How big of a deal is the Silent Power cutter block vs the robust nature of the AD 741?

I am a hobbyist and I am putting together a wood shop that I will probably have for the rest of my life. I do not have any plans for exotic woods other than figured, domestic hardwoods.

I guess the real question is how big of a deal is the new Felder Silent Power spiral cutter head?

Thanks.

mreza Salav
09-29-2013, 10:45 PM
The answer to me is obvious: AD741, I wouldn't even think for a second.
go for the Felder, bigger/better machine.

Albert Lee
09-29-2013, 11:02 PM
I would say check the condition of the machine, if it has been abused, go for the new Hammer. if its been sitting around in a storage(unlikely?) collecting dust, then the AD741.

Ralph Butts
09-30-2013, 12:26 AM
I own an A3-41 with a Silent Power Cutter Block and I LOVE IT. If an AD741 in good shape was available in my area at the time I was making my purchase I would have gone with the Felder.

Erik Loza
09-30-2013, 8:13 AM
The AD7-41, no question about it.

Erik Loza
Minimax USA

David Hawxhurst
09-30-2013, 8:27 AM
i would get the ad741 over the hammer.

Rod Sheridan
09-30-2013, 9:19 AM
The 741 is a great machine, and the stock quick change cutter head works very well.

The A3-31 with the new cutter block is great, even if just for the noise reduction.

The Hammer will last your lifetime as a hobby user, so will the Felder.

Don't get me wrong, I really like Felder equipment, however it's not always the optimum solution for a hobby shop.