PDA

View Full Version : Outdoor Trim Material

Jerry Solomon
09-25-2013, 5:36 PM
I have several posts supporting my front porch. Each post has some decorative facing trim on the lower 12". This facing is 1X material about 6" wide. It was originally installed with mitered corners and then painted.

Over the years I have had to replace it more than once due to rotting. In the past I have replaced it with clear pine or fir. It looks nice but tends to rot after a relatively short time in use. I installed it with a gap at the bottom which I filled with caulk to avoid water wicking up from the end. This helped a little but it still rots.

Maybe it's time to change materials. I am considering the following:

1. PT material (yellow-wood)
2. Synthetic lumber (PVC or some other synthetic)
3. Others??

I am concerned about gluing PT material as I have no experience with it.
I am concerned about working with the synthetics as I have no experience with those either.

Any ideas about the best way to solve this problem?

Peter Quinn
09-25-2013, 7:59 PM
I did my own porch column wraps with PVC. It looks just like wood, gluing and milling is easy, though its messy stinky stuff to cut and shape, very unpleasant dust that sticks to everything. Get past that and it holds paint exceptionally well, doesn't absorb moisture, mostly stays put. Long lengths will expand and contract as it heats and cools, so you have to attach it well and accommodate the expansion in your design.