PDA

View Full Version : Noob Question - Finish for Stained Steps

Robert LaChance
09-16-2013, 6:43 PM
Hello all,

I am a novice at wood and finishing, so please be gentle with me!

My wife and I have undertaken to redo our staircase. It was covered in carpet, but we have stripped that and have already sanded, pre-treated, and stained the existing steps. They appear to be southern yellow pine. Specifically, we have been following this blog as our "blueprint."
http://inmyownstyle.com/2011/01/my-foyer-staircase-reveal.html

We used oil-based Minwax regular stain. Which leads me to our next step: what to use for the finish? I did not just want to blindly follow the above blog and use the Zinsser poly. Instead, I would like to hear from you experts what would make the most sense for finishing these steps. Factors that are important to me: cost, performance, time, and smell. And by smell, I just mean the smell from oil-based products. I still can't use my oven or dryer because when I use them, a kerosene-like smell is created. The gas guy (and google) said that the oil vapors in the air (from all the staining) have caused this, and it will take a long time for it to go away. But if oil-based is the best way, then so be it... we'll find a way to make it work!

Thanks in advance for your thoughtful insight, and remember I have very little knowledge, so if you use too much industry-speak, I likely will not know what you are talking about! :)

--Robert

Rich Engelhardt
09-17-2013, 6:51 AM
My wife and I have undertaken to redo our staircase. It was covered in carpet, but we have stripped that and have already sanded, pre-treated, and stained the existing steps. They appear to be southern yellow pine. Specifically, we have been following this blog as our "blueprint."Chances are, the Zinsser oil based poly they used is no longer available - which is a blessing of sorts.