PDA

View Full Version : What kind of wood is this?

Brian Kent
09-16-2013, 2:20 PM
I brought home a trunk full of logs from a retreat in Julian, California. By the bark I first thought of Eucalyptus. Texture is similar to wet eucalyptus I've turned before, but the color is different (lots of Eucalyptus species though).

Then I saw this parking lot tree and it had similar bark patterns. Any thoughts?

I cut the small logs into blanks and sealed the end. The bigger logs are a couple of inches too big for the bandsaw so I need to get the chainsaw out and at least remove the pith and seal.

Brian Kent
09-16-2013, 2:23 PM
Another small log of a different kind. I have no idea what this little one is.

Jeff Gilfor
09-16-2013, 2:36 PM
The smooth barked stuff looks like birch to me, but I am no expert.

Dennis Ford
09-16-2013, 2:37 PM
Your wood looks like sycamore to me, the other small log looks like some type of oak. The tree with similar bark is something else.

Adam Blanton
09-16-2013, 2:38 PM
Sycamore would be my guess.

Brian Kent
09-16-2013, 2:40 PM
This is really funny because I have a sycamore tree in my back yard and have turned a lot of brown, dried out sycamore firewood. I am surprised I didn't recognize it, but I think you are right.

Bob Bergstrom
09-16-2013, 2:42 PM
Looks like Sycamore here also. No clue on the other one?

Robert Henrickson
09-16-2013, 2:51 PM
First should be sycamore, based on the bark and grain pattern in the fourth photo.

Prashun Patel
09-16-2013, 2:53 PM
+1 sycamore.

robert baccus
09-16-2013, 3:18 PM
Bark looks like sycamore but also eucalypus. The small leaves and branching looks like euc. perhaps. Check a perfectly cut radial surface--the sycamore will show very strong ray figure.

Brian Kent
09-16-2013, 3:30 PM
Yes, the radial cuts do show rays.

John Keeton
09-16-2013, 3:38 PM
Definitely sycamore on the cut pieces! And, excellent wood to turn, BTW, though rather plain sometimes.

Reed Gray
09-16-2013, 6:10 PM