PDA

View Full Version : Run away core...

Fred Belknap
09-12-2013, 4:42 PM
I was coring a NE ash bowl this afternoon and the core came out unexpectedly and hit me right on the breastbone. Almost knocked me down. It was about 10” core. I am still kind of new at using the McNaughton tool and coring NE pieces aren’t the easiest. No real harm just a little sore, just enough to remind me to slow the lathe down when I get near the center. It could of done some real damage.:eek:

Bob Bergstrom
09-12-2013, 5:04 PM
After taking half a hard maple blank in the sternum ( 3 weeks with a bruised sternum) I know use a foam stadium cushion under my coveralls. I also have a soccer shin guard on my left forearm.

Josh Bowman
09-12-2013, 5:15 PM
Fred, I also have the McNaughton, where were you standing??? I to am kind of new with it and will insure I don't stand there!!!;)

Fred Belknap
09-12-2013, 5:38 PM
Fred, I also have the McNaughton, where were you standing??? I to am kind of new with it and will insure I don't stand there!!!;)

Josh I was standing about the only place you can and still hold the handle. I had just moved the toolrest closer to the blank as I had run out of blade. It might not have been aligned perfectly when I turned it back on and it was in deeper than I thought it was. It broke out about 1" of center. I have had the centers to get loose but this was the first one that attacked me.

Josh Bowman
09-12-2013, 5:59 PM
Ouch! I'm glad your ok. I was just curious, I try to stand at the end of the lathe and avoid getting too much to the side of the piece. But when it's spinning like that, no telling where it might go!