PDA

View Full Version : Plug for new PM2000 3HP Single Phase Table Saw?

Charles Musgrave
09-12-2013, 10:13 AM
Hi,

I'm new, although I have enjoyed lurking here the last two months and learning from the many informative posts. I bought a new (two years old, but still in the crate) PM2000 table saw (3HP/1-Phase) last Saturday off Craigslist and need to make an extension cord for it. The guy gave me 30 ft of waterproof AWG 10/3 cable, but I need to buy plugs for the cable and install a 240V/20A circuit for it.

I am thinking of NEMA L6-20 plugs for it. Is this the right choice? I'll install a 240V/20A breaker at my panel and a L6-20 receptacle if these are the right plugs.

Thanks in advance for any advice! Please forgive me if this sounds dumb or if it has been discussed ad infinitum in the forums - I'm a novice. I did a forum search and read a number of threads, but they mostly focused on wire gauge, circuit breaker amperage, etc. The manual doesn't give any advice about plugs. Also, don't ask me how much I paid - you might not take pity on this newbie and give me any advice!

Charles

Erik Loza
09-12-2013, 10:24 AM
I like Twist-Loc plugs and receptacles. They are rated by amperage. Lowes/Home Depot sell them...

Also, you won't want to use all 30' of that 10/3. Just long enough to reach the machine. Possibly you were ware of that already. Best of luck.

Erik Loza
Minimax USA

Rod Sheridan
09-12-2013, 10:28 AM
For a home shop, I never use locking devices, unless required by location.

Straight blade devices work just fine, and at work they outlast locking devices because half of the people can't seem to lock them properly resulting in melted devices.

A straight blade device is easy to verify if it's properly inserted.
Regards, Rod.

Andrew Fleck
09-12-2013, 10:31 AM
Hi Charles,