PDA

View Full Version : why did my workbench warp?

Chris Skoglund
09-10-2013, 12:36 AM
I'm new to this and for my first large project I decided to make a workbench. This is the one that I made. (Originally I thought I'd do a Roubo bench but decided that I didn't have the resources or the skill to handle that at this point). http://www.handymanclub.com/Portals/0/uploadedfiles/Robust%20Bench.pdf

Unfortunately, as I got into the project I liked this plan less and less and now my tabletop is warped and there's a sizeable bow upwards in the middle of the bench running lengthwise. The plan calls for gluing several lengths of maple together and then mounting that assembly to a stack of two sheets of 3/4 MDF. The maple top is glued to the MDF along the front edge only. My thought is that this is were the problem is. Did that glued edge prevent the top from expanding? Also, I did not pay attention to the direction of the grain in the individual lengths when I glued them together, but as I've been reading up on this it seems that I should have to prevent cupping (?). Not sure if I understand that correctly. Perhaps what I'm seeing is cupping?

We just came out of a rainy spell and the weather will now become very, very dry as is custom for my area. Will the tabletop flatten out as moisture is pulled back from the wood into the air or will I face new problems? Will it crack?

Any insight is greatly appreciated as well as resources to turn to to understand this better. (I'm waiting on Understanding Wood as per several members recommendations).

At some point I may just build another top and mount it to the base and use this one as expensive firewood if necessary.

Thanks in advance.

Jim Matthews
09-10-2013, 7:15 AM
It would be helpful to view a few pictures.

If your top is a lamination with MDF at the center, flip the works over and apply some weight for a few days.