PDA

View Full Version : aztec calendar

stan kern
09-07-2013, 6:34 PM
lasering an aztec calendar ,quite complicated diagram but worked out ok ,took a few attempts

http://youtu.be/bRq9O87ZhFE
I have never done something so complex before and it was hard with a few messed up attempts

David Rust
09-07-2013, 11:06 PM
Nice work Stan,

What is the diameter?

Scott Shepherd
09-08-2013, 2:52 PM
Looks nice Stan! Any reason you didn't raster engrave it? Curious as to why you vector marked it all. No right or wrong, just curious.

Keith Outten
09-08-2013, 3:04 PM
Stan,

Nice work on the calendar and I noticed that you must have over a hundred videos on You Tube. Lots of CNC and Laser Engraving videos that are very informative, thanks for all the work you put into these and for sharing them.

stan kern
09-08-2013, 3:31 PM
you are welcome ,i have a hugh passion for the 2 cnc machines and i am retired and have the time to dedicate to learning and showing
I'm always experimenting

stan kern
09-08-2013, 3:40 PM
its 10 in dia.
I did find the file hard to handle (*.dxf),i downloaded it and when i loaded it into laser cut and did a simulation to check on just how much time it would take it
would take I saw these strikes or tool paths way off to the x or y diestion outside the bounds of the work piece.Sure enough into the cut or burn 7 min
the laser takes off and hits a y limit hard enough that upon return the diagram is now off ,tried this a few more times and it kept doing it (y or x runing my work piece)
I then got a newer copy of the file ran it through corel (reducing the nodes)(resizing it ) and trying it again.Once i even had runouit of laser memory and it would not load.
This was the toughtest project i have taken on.
And i am not sure why yet,would like to try it 20 in x 20 in but i might be pressing my luck

stan kern
09-08-2013, 3:41 PM
I prefer what i call a scribe cut ,i cut it just enough to really mark it ,looks like black ink not a burn