PDA

View Full Version : I hate sanding between finish coats

Jim Barstow
09-05-2013, 9:47 PM
I typically sand with 400 grit between finish coats but it is a long, boring process that I hate. (My favorite finish these days is minwax wipe-on poly diluted with a little mineral spirits and with a dash of tung oil added.) Does anyone have a magic finish recipe that provides a satin (NOT glossy) finish that doesn't require the hours of sanding? Should I try using an HVLP spray? I've been doing this for 30 years but surely there is some new finishing technology that provides a perfectly smooth finish sanding free.

Sanding the Greene and Greene crib I'm making takes hours between coats

Mike Henderson
09-05-2013, 10:15 PM
My experience is that it's necessary to sand after the sanding sealer to get a smooth coat of the final finish. Alternately, wait until you put your first final coat on, then sand and shoot one more coat.

I use water borne finishes so the water raises the grain, which means I have to sand somewhere in the schedule.

Mike

[I spray my finishes.]

Leo Graywacz
09-05-2013, 10:22 PM
You'll have to sand the first coat, otherwise what it feels like after that will be what you get in the end.

With polyurethane you are forced to sand, it is this sanding that the next coat will bond to.

If you are spraying lacquers, pre cat or post cat lacquers you can eliminate the rest of the sanding as long as you are spraying within the window. With lacquer you can respray anytime, it melts into itself. With a precat lacquer you can spray another coat hours later without sanding. With a post cat lacquer you have to be pretty quick, and it depends on the product also. If you respray between 1 and 2 hours of drying you won't need to sand.

All the manufacturers insist you scuff between all coats.

Mark Bolton
09-05-2013, 11:16 PM