PDA

View Full Version : MRI Question

Joel Goodman
09-02-2013, 3:45 PM
My doc tells me I need an neck MRI to diagnose some arm pain that may be starting in the neck. On the phone the MRI facility asked me if I had ever been involved with "metal grinding". Of course as a woodworker I've sharpened tools on a wheel, drilled holes in metal etc. I'm hoping to get more answers from the techs tomorrow but has anyone here been through this? Are they concerned about stuff in the eye or ? that might be pulled by the magnet. Any information would be appreciated -- this is all rather alarming!

Dan Hintz
09-02-2013, 4:00 PM
Yes, they're concerned about metal, though unless you have any chunks embedded in your skin I wouldn't worry about it. Drilling a few holes or sharpening some tools is not the same as working metal all day long.

The gauss level in an MRI machine is pretty impressive, and it can rip metallic implants right out of your body.

Jim Koepke
09-02-2013, 4:13 PM
Likely a routine question.

There is some very strong magnetics going on during an MRI. The hardest part is keeping still while they are making the images.

After about 60 years of age depending on how wreak-less one was during life it becomes difficult each morning to determine if you have more aches or more pains.

Though I have not suffered many broken bones other than a slight skull fracture and a smashed finger I did get in a few bad situations. They didn't mess with me much when I was young, but the seem to come back to remind me in my later years.

Good luck, hope they find something that can be remedied instead of the "well, you will just have to live with it" they found for me.

For me, taking care of how I lay when falling asleep has a lot to do with how I will feel in the morning.

I tried a chiropractor, but that taught me, "the purpose of the spine was to support the chiropractor." (That is supposedly a quote from Daniel David Palmer, the founder of chiropractic medicine.)

jtk

Joel Goodman