PDA

View Full Version : Pulled the trigger!!

Earl Rumans
08-26-2013, 3:53 PM
I talked to Shane, at Baileigh Industrial, today and ended up ordering the JP-1250 jointer/planer. Shane answered all my questions and was great to deal with. I have always been interested in woodworking but never had the time. Now that I am retired, I will have time to enjoy learning to work with wood. I am currently setting up one bay of my garage for a workshop. I may be a total newbe but, at 68, one thing I have learned in my life is that you can't accomplish much without good tools. I think the Baileigh will be a very good choice for my limited work area.

I am not associated with Baileigh in any way but I think they are putting out some very nice tools at attractive prices. They are currently having a 15% off sale so I couldn't resist. I really like their 14" BS but I am tapped out, so it will have to wait. Along with the JP-1250, I have an Delta drill press, Jet Exacta TS and DC, Triton router and the Incra system going in my new shop. As an absolute new woodworker I will be posting some progress reports on my learning process with the Baleigh and woodworking in general, hopefully they may help other newbs at this hobby.

Earl

richard poitras
08-26-2013, 5:09 PM
Earl, Welcome to the Creek...

John TenEyck
08-26-2013, 7:35 PM
Congrats. You already have more tools than I did when I started out. I built quite a bit of stuff with not much more than a TS, router, and some hand tools. When your J/P arrives you should be able to build most anything you put your mind to, and you'll be able to buy rough lumber which will open up a whole new range of possibilities to you and save you money, at least on a BF basis.

John

Don Morris
08-26-2013, 8:44 PM
No pics, didn't happen

Troy Turner
08-26-2013, 9:25 PM
Earl -

Welcome aboard. I wish I had a forum like this when I started out, then I wouldn't be replacing some of my tools with quality ones. I woulda bought them first...