PDA

View Full Version : Coral Draw 4 Vs Photograv

Tim Landrum
08-26-2013, 11:32 AM
I'm brand new to this whole thing and want to know if you need both to photo etching on marble or is one better than the other? Thanks

Gary Hair
08-26-2013, 11:39 AM
Although you can do image manipulation in Corel similar to what PhotoGrav can do, you will save lots of time and frustration if you use PhotoGrav. It really depends on the quantity of images you will be engraving, once in a while is ok with Corel, but if you plan on doing more than a few then it will be much faster and more consistent to use PhotoGrav. Oh, I'm assuming you meant X4 (14), not 4...

Dan Hintz
08-26-2013, 11:49 AM
And I prefer to work exclusively in CorelDraw and Paint.NET... never saw a need for Photograv once I understood what needed to happen with the pics.

Mike Null
08-26-2013, 12:22 PM
I don't do a lot of photos but Corel PhotoPaint works just fine for those that I do.

AL Ursich
08-26-2013, 1:32 PM
And I prefer to work exclusively in CorelDraw and Paint.NET... never saw a need for Photograv once I understood what needed to happen with the pics.

Dan,

Do tell... Tell us more..... in another post..

AL

Martin Boekers
08-26-2013, 2:54 PM
I have posted this many times, it is very useful for engraving photos. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yllZTBA0HO0&feature=related There is soooo much stuff on YouTube about engraving, so many don't make use of this tool. I do use PhotoGrav from time to time, its quick and easy.... The main thing is that when doing any of these methods is to make sure you image is to size, resolution and orientation. Changing any of these after converting will degrade the final image.

Dan Hintz
08-26-2013, 8:24 PM
Dan,

Do tell... Tell us more..... in another post..

AL