PDA

View Full Version : So, you think it's sharp???

John Miliunas
05-27-2005, 8:18 PM
Although I'm a newbie Neander, I found out early on that the best and safest chisels, planes, spokeshaves, etc..., out there are the sharp ones. While the proof may indeed be in the final cutting action, it's nice to know what your cutting edge actually looks like. My buddy, Gene Collison, who also happens to be one of my "long distance mentors" taught me early on about the importance of closely examining the edge I'm sharpening. To this end, he recommended to get an eye loupe. I picked up a cheapie set, which took me to 10x magnification. Yup, helped me to better see what was actually going on, but a bit cumbersome. I'd always end up trying to find the right angle of the light to catch the edge and yet still not have it be buried in my head's shadow. Now, while I realize some of the sharpening zealots out there have gone to the extreme of incorporating something like the Intel microscope to examine edges, I wanted something a bit better than what I had without having to go clear across the shop to my computer to use something like that. :rolleyes: