PDA

View Full Version : New Felder FB 610 Band Saw

Keith Outten
08-24-2013, 11:05 AM
This week I drove to the Felder office in Delaware to pick up a new band saw I ordered. I wanted to both transport my new saw and take advantage of the opportunity to meet the folks at Felder. Because it was such a hectic round trip from Virginia to Delaware in a day I didn't get to spend any time with the Felder Staff but I hope to remedy that in the coming weeks.

The idea of a shop without a table saw has been discussed here many times and I have decided to give it a try. In order for me to give up my table saw I would have to have a pretty serious band saw that I felt could handle every aspect of the work I do in my shop. Like so many of you I have owned several band saws over the years starting with a small three wheel table top Craftsman to the 18" Jet band saw I have been using for several years now. Although I have been very happy with the Jet saw it doesn't have enough throat capacity to take the place of my table saw so I decided to upgrade.....hopefully for the last time. I should also mention that I have a panel saw that I use to break down sheet material, these days mostly long sheets of Corian.

My research here at The Creek led me to Felder based on the number of positive comments here. My second reason for selecting Felder is that they are a sponsor here and I believe that supporting our sponsors is in our best interests. After a long conversation with Rich Williams I decided on the FB 610 model, it is the largest saw in their product line that is 220 volt single phase and will fit in my garage door. The 610 has a five HP motor and a 22" by 30" table. The saw weighs in at about 800 pounds.