PDA

View Full Version : Delta Unisaw question (motor stalling)

John Prexta
08-23-2013, 8:46 PM
My Unisaw is about 5 years old now. I'm a home hobbyist. Lately (the last year or so), whenever I run (rip) several boards, it'll shut down on me in the middle of a cut. I'll take the board out, wait 5 minutes or so, and I'll be good to go again. Seems to me the motor is overheating? Some sort of thermal overload? Store I bought it from said the motor isn't the best - should I look to get a replacement motor, or is it something in the switch? Any thoughts or ideas would be appreciated.

Duane Meadows
08-23-2013, 8:54 PM
Possibly a bad motor... I'd check the start/run cap first though. If you have an clamp on ammeter, check the current draw. If its normal could be a bad overload(unlikely) or a bad magnetic switch.

Mike Bain
08-23-2013, 8:58 PM
I had a problem like that and it turned out to be a loose wire in the switch.

Chris Rosenberger
08-23-2013, 9:41 PM
Take the cover off of the magnetic starter. The inside should look similar to the picture below.
If yours looks this, there will be a dial similar to the one in the lower left corner of the one in the picture.
Make sure the arrow is pointing to a number at least equal to the amperage listed on the motor name plate.

http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o303/chrisrosenb/Shop%20Album/20100126_3.jpg (http://s123.photobucket.com/user/chrisrosenb/media/Shop%20Album/20100126_3.jpg.html)

John Prexta
08-23-2013, 9:45 PM
Yes Chris mine looks quite similar to that. I did check that, and checked all connections making sure nothing was loose. For the last several months, it would just shut down after several long rips. It seems after I wait for it to "cool off" it's fine again, then stops again - quite annoying - that's why I'm thinking of just replacing the motor.

John McClanahan
08-23-2013, 11:46 PM