PDA

View Full Version : CorelDraw Content and iMac via Parallels

John Bion
08-19-2013, 6:01 AM
To those who use a Mac and Parallels with Corel Draw.
I have been using Corel Draw via Parallels on my iMac for many months now without any problems, however I have not tried to use the Content folders until now. I went to see if I could save myself a little time by using some images from the vector images file however these files will only show thumb nails via the Mac (i.e.: you can't see them) not via CD/Microsoft. How can I get this to change? The problem is that although I can import files into CD without a problem (right clicking), I cannot browse them by thumbnail to choose the image I desire.
Any help is much appreciated.
Kind Regards,
John

Scott Shepherd
08-19-2013, 8:04 AM
You need to install a viewer on the windows side. The Mac will spoil you with previews, won't it? LOVE the ability to see eps files, etc. all without having to open anything.

I think a piece of software called Romcat has been recommended many times here over the years. It's a windows issue, not a mac or parallel related issue, so just install something like that and it should solve your problem.

John Bion
08-19-2013, 9:13 AM
Steve,
Thank you for your reply. Yep, I could happily stare at eps file logos all day ;)
I will have a look for Romcat.
Kind Regards,
John

Mike Troncalli
08-19-2013, 9:20 AM
I may be misunderstanding what you are trying to do, but there is an app called CDRviewer that is free on the Mac app store. I use it to view CDR files without having to open Corel. I have the same setup as you do.

Mike Null
08-19-2013, 9:23 AM
Here is a link to Romcat videos and tips. http://www.unleash.com/articles/romcat/

Scott Shepherd
08-19-2013, 10:10 AM
I think I misunderstood as well. Do you want to preview them in the OSX world or in the Windows world? If you meant in the OSX world, then I misunderstood what you were asking and Romcat probably isn't going to solve anything for you.