PDA

View Full Version : Anybody here use the Segment Stomper?

Dan Case LR
08-16-2013, 5:48 PM
Do any of the segmented turning lovers here have any experience with Lloyd Johnson's Segment Stomper?

Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=LS6TnFWVXVk

This looks like one brilliant tool for aligning both open and closed rings. Just curious if there are any issues or caveats I should know about.

Thanks!

D.

dirk martin
08-17-2013, 12:07 AM
Not sure how it can help aligning closed rings.
Afterall, don't segments in closed rings align themselves?

Greg Just
08-17-2013, 8:23 AM
I have watched that video a couple of times and like Dirk, not sure how it helps with a closed ring. I use large hose screw clamps as recommended by Malcolm Tibbetts and use his half ring method. I would be afraid the rubber band is not enough clamping pressure, but I don't do a lot of segmented work so I'm not an expert.

Dan Case LR
08-17-2013, 9:18 AM
It's not used for glueing closed segments into rings. Once you have your rings built, it makes it easy to align then while stacking. His video doesn't show that as clearly as it shows stacking open segments.

D.

Michelle Rich
08-17-2013, 11:01 AM
I do a lot of segmented work, and I would not buy it.

Richard Coers
08-17-2013, 12:33 PM
I haven't done any segmented work, but looks like it would work try well. Ingenious really, and lets you do the glue up on a bench. I like it!

Dan Case LR
08-17-2013, 2:07 PM
I do a lot of segmented work, and I would not buy it.

Why not?

D.

Robert McGowen
08-19-2013, 3:12 PM