PDA

View Full Version : Cupped Slab help

Brendan Prichard
08-15-2013, 9:41 PM
Hello all! This is officially my first post/thread in the sawmill community. While I have read and gained much knowledge over the past couple of years, by simply reading existing material, I finally came across a problem I couldnt seem to figure out without asking specific questions.First let me say that I am relatively green in the wonderful world of woodworking. I am completely self taught, but have been progressively devoting more and more of my time, over the past 3 years, to this craft. On to my questions! Over the past year I have made a few live edge slab cheeseboards as gifts. I have exclusively used walnut slabs to date. I live in Jacksonville, Florida, where there very few retail outfits selling anything other then pine, cedar, poplar or red oak, so most of my hardwood lumber is mail ordered, including the previously mentioned slabs. The previous slabs I purchased all measured approx 1"x12"X48", live edge, kiln dried,skip planed, but both very flat. None of the slabs ever moved significantly, only requiring minimal sanding before seasoning. The slabs came from Indiana, and I received them in Dec-Jan of this past year. Everything was great. Well I recently purchased 3 more walnut slabs with almost identical descriptions as the previously mentioned pieces. The only differences are: the new slabs are 3/4" thickness, and they came from Tennessee, and I received them in August, as opposed to December. the were skip planed and flat before leaving Tennessee, but when I unpacked them , the both came out with pretty significant, full length cupping. So my real question is: is cupping usually associated with wood gaining moisture, or losing it? Mind you, August in Florida where I live is pretty brutal. Stepping into my non-climate controlled garage/workshop is equivalent an experience to what Marlow must have felt cruising up the Congo River. It was 96 degrees with 80+% humidity the day